Nebraska Section - AAPT

About Us






Nebraska–American Association of Physics Teachers
February 24, 2007
Olin Hall of Science
Nebraska Wesleyan University
5000 St. Paul Ave.
Lincoln, Nebraska

9:00 – 9:30 Registration , coffee, juice, assorted pastries
9:30 – 9:45 Welcome: Trecia Markes (UNK), N-AAPT President

9:45 – 10:45 Michelle Strand (Southeast Community College)
"Free Resources for Teaching with Technology"
Presentation and demonstrations

10:45 – 11:45 Fr. Michael Liebl (Mount Michael Benedictine High School)
Fr. Michael received a grant from the NSTA for the Vernier
Technology Award. His presentation will include the
project, "A Flashlight with No Batteries".

12:00 – 2:00 Lunch** and business /planning meeting
Election of officers for 2007-2008
Discussion of plans for future meetings

2:00 – 3:30 Kevin Lee (UNL)
This presentation/workshop will focus on a new module of
the Nebraska Astronomy Applet Project on Retention of
Planetary Atmosphere. It will involve a number of topics
from thermal physics, including escape velocity, Boltzmann
speed distribution of a gas, and their interplay. There are
four simulations with background material, exercises, and
pre/post assessments. Participants will work through the
materials on computers.

3:30 – 4:15 Robert Fairchild (Nebraska Wesleyan University), moderator
A panel discussion of renewal and/or replacement of
science buildings. Todd Young (Wayne State College),
Chris Wentworth (Doane College), Trecia Markes (UNK)

4:15 – 4:30 Closing – Trecia Markes and Fr. Michael Liebl, President 2007-08

**Lunch ($6.25 – all you can eat) will be at the cafeteria in the Story Student Center.

If you have any questions, please contact Trecia Markes at,
308-865-8878 (office) or 308-440-0532 (cell).